Re: [PATCH v6 15/15] rebase -i --rebase-merges: add a section to the man page
- From
- Phillip Wood <phillip.wood@talktalk.net>
- Date
- Apr 11, 2018, 15:35 UTC
- Message-ID
- <26c21a44-92b3-80f4-5211-034c64f7568c@talktalk.net>
- In-Reply-To
- <a162afa761e3000eb60169fce7a50938888f80b4.1523362469.git.johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
On 10/04/18 13:30, Johannes Schindelin wrote:
Firstly let me say that I think expanding the documentation and having an example is an excellent idea.
Show 24 quoted lines
> + > +------------ > +label onto > + > +# Branch: refactor-button > +reset onto > +pick 123456 Extract a generic Button class from the DownloadButton one > +pick 654321 Use the Button class for all buttons > +label refactor-button > + > +# Branch: report-a-bug > +reset refactor-button # Use the Button class for all buttons > +pick abcdef Add the feedback button > +label report-a-bug > + > +reset onto > +merge -C a1b2c3 refactor-button # Merge 'refactor-button' > +merge -C 6f5e4d report-a-bug # Merge 'report-a-bug' > +------------ > + > +In contrast to a regular interactive rebase, there are `label`, `reset` and > +`merge` commands in addition to `pick` ones. > + > +The `label` command puts a label to whatever will be the current
s/puts a label to/associates a label with/ would be clearer I think. Maybe s/whatever will be the current revision/the current HEAD/ an well?
> +revision when that command is executed. Internally, these labels are > +worktree-local refs that will be deleted when the rebase finishes or > +when it is aborted.
I agree they should be deleted when the rebase is aborted but I cannot see any changes to git-rebase.sh to make that happen. I think they should also be deleted by 'rebase --quit'.
Show 5 quoted lines
> That way, rebase operations in multiple worktrees > +linked to the same repository do not interfere with one another. > + > +The `reset` command is essentially a `git reset --hard` to the specified > +revision (typically a previously-labeled one).
s/labeled/labelled/
I think it would be worthwhile to point out that unlike the other commands this will not preserve untracked files. Maybe something like "Note that unlike the `pick` or `merge` commands or initial checkout when the rebase starts the `reset` command will overwrite any untracked files."
Best Wishes
Phillip