threads / discuss / 46903

Deleting a branch after merging it results in "there may be uncommitted changes"

Subject: Deleting a branch after merging it results in "there may be uncommitted changes"

## tl;dr

2 messages between Oct 5, 2017 and Oct 17, 2017.

replies: 1people: 2as markdown or json

Joshua Lamusga· Oct 5, 2017, 03:04 UTC · lore

Hello, I'm trying to understand Git and the mess I've made. Some time ago, I did crazy things like adding to master even though I was working in develop, leaving it a commit ahead and X commits behind. I did crazier things, like trying to amend a previous post's message.

Anyway, I follow a very simple merging model for this one-person project. Recently, I made a new local branch off of develop called feature-printing. After checking out feature-printing, making my changes, and committing changes, I merged it with develop. I then immediately tried to delete feature-printing, which resulted in a prompt asking if I was sure since it might contain uncommitted changes. Though I've seen this problem many times on the internet, I haven't seen it in the context of literally just merging. There are 0 steps between merging and deleting the old branch.

All of this is done in Visual Studio's GUI for Git. Any ideas?
Florian Weimer· Oct 17, 2017, 12:24 UTC · re: Joshua Lamusga · lore

Re: Deleting a branch after merging it results in "there may be uncommitted changes"

On 10/05/2017 05:04 AM, Joshua Lamusga wrote:
Show 9 quoted lines
> Anyway, I follow a very simple merging model for this one-person
> project. Recently, I made a new local branch off of develop called
> feature-printing. After checking out feature-printing, making my
> changes, and committing changes, I merged it with develop. I then
> immediately tried to delete feature-printing, which resulted in a
> prompt asking if I was sure since it might contain uncommitted
> changes. Though I've seen this problem many times on the internet, I
> haven't seen it in the context of literally just merging. There are 0
> steps between merging and deleting the old branch.

What's the exact warning? It seems unlikely that your Git interface would complain about *uncommitted* changes in this context.

> All of this is done in Visual Studio's GUI for Git. Any ideas?

Maybe ask on a Visual Studio forum instead, in case this is something generated by the front end?

Florian

← back to recent threads