Deleting a branch after merging it results in "there may be uncommitted changes"
- From
- Joshua Lamusga <joshlamusga@gmail.com>
- Date
- Oct 5, 2017, 03:04 UTC
- Message-ID
- <CA+bN42rdGATo-T-ibWRMvXsKJwgX6Lp_xSM+MEQdc3tOejshog@mail.gmail.com>
Hello, I'm trying to understand Git and the mess I've made. Some time ago, I did crazy things like adding to master even though I was working in develop, leaving it a commit ahead and X commits behind. I did crazier things, like trying to amend a previous post's message.
Anyway, I follow a very simple merging model for this one-person project. Recently, I made a new local branch off of develop called feature-printing. After checking out feature-printing, making my changes, and committing changes, I merged it with develop. I then immediately tried to delete feature-printing, which resulted in a prompt asking if I was sure since it might contain uncommitted changes. Though I've seen this problem many times on the internet, I haven't seen it in the context of literally just merging. There are 0 steps between merging and deleting the old branch.
All of this is done in Visual Studio's GUI for Git. Any ideas?