# Deleting a branch after merging it results in "there may be uncommitted changes"

2 messages from 2017-10-05 to 2017-10-17. Participants: Joshua Lamusga, Florian Weimer.
Thread: https://gitlist.dev/t/46903

## Joshua Lamusga, 2017-10-05 03:04

Subject: Deleting a branch after merging it results in "there may be uncommitted changes"
Message-ID: <CA+bN42rdGATo-T-ibWRMvXsKJwgX6Lp_xSM+MEQdc3tOejshog@mail.gmail.com>
URL: https://gitlist.dev/e/CA%2BbN42rdGATo-T-ibWRMvXsKJwgX6Lp_xSM%2BMEQdc3tOejshog%40mail.gmail.com

```
Hello, I'm trying to understand Git and the mess I've made. Some time
ago, I did crazy things like adding to master even though I was
working in develop, leaving it a commit ahead and X commits behind. I
did crazier things, like trying to amend a previous post's message.

Anyway, I follow a very simple merging model for this one-person
project. Recently, I made a new local branch off of develop called
feature-printing. After checking out feature-printing, making my
changes, and committing changes, I merged it with develop. I then
immediately tried to delete feature-printing, which resulted in a
prompt asking if I was sure since it might contain uncommitted
changes. Though I've seen this problem many times on the internet, I
haven't seen it in the context of literally just merging. There are 0
steps between merging and deleting the old branch.

All of this is done in Visual Studio's GUI for Git. Any ideas?

```

## Florian Weimer, 2017-10-17 12:24

Subject: Re: Deleting a branch after merging it results in "there may be uncommitted changes"
Message-ID: <fe4063db-c917-2661-2b5a-17c0d226f49a@redhat.com>
URL: https://gitlist.dev/e/fe4063db-c917-2661-2b5a-17c0d226f49a%40redhat.com
In-Reply-To: <CA+bN42rdGATo-T-ibWRMvXsKJwgX6Lp_xSM+MEQdc3tOejshog@mail.gmail.com>

```
On 10/05/2017 05:04 AM, Joshua Lamusga wrote:
> Anyway, I follow a very simple merging model for this one-person
> project. Recently, I made a new local branch off of develop called
> feature-printing. After checking out feature-printing, making my
> changes, and committing changes, I merged it with develop. I then
> immediately tried to delete feature-printing, which resulted in a
> prompt asking if I was sure since it might contain uncommitted
> changes. Though I've seen this problem many times on the internet, I
> haven't seen it in the context of literally just merging. There are 0
> steps between merging and deleting the old branch.

What's the exact warning?  It seems unlikely that your Git interface 
would complain about *uncommitted* changes in this context.

> All of this is done in Visual Studio's GUI for Git. Any ideas?

Maybe ask on a Visual Studio forum instead, in case this is something 
generated by the front end?

Florian

```
