Re: Deleting a branch after merging it results in "there may be uncommitted changes"
- From
- Florian Weimer <fweimer@redhat.com>
- Date
- Oct 17, 2017, 12:24 UTC
- Message-ID
- <fe4063db-c917-2661-2b5a-17c0d226f49a@redhat.com>
- In-Reply-To
- <CA+bN42rdGATo-T-ibWRMvXsKJwgX6Lp_xSM+MEQdc3tOejshog@mail.gmail.com>
On 10/05/2017 05:04 AM, Joshua Lamusga wrote:
Show 9 quoted lines
> Anyway, I follow a very simple merging model for this one-person > project. Recently, I made a new local branch off of develop called > feature-printing. After checking out feature-printing, making my > changes, and committing changes, I merged it with develop. I then > immediately tried to delete feature-printing, which resulted in a > prompt asking if I was sure since it might contain uncommitted > changes. Though I've seen this problem many times on the internet, I > haven't seen it in the context of literally just merging. There are 0 > steps between merging and deleting the old branch.
What's the exact warning? It seems unlikely that your Git interface would complain about *uncommitted* changes in this context.
> All of this is done in Visual Studio's GUI for Git. Any ideas?
Maybe ask on a Visual Studio forum instead, in case this is something generated by the front end?
Florian