{"thread":{"id":"46903","subject":"Deleting a branch after merging it results in \"there may be uncommitted changes\"","startedAt":"2017-10-05T03:04:07Z","lastAt":"2017-10-17T12:24:15Z","messageCount":2,"participants":["Joshua Lamusga","Florian Weimer"],"isPatch":false,"patchVersion":null,"patchTotal":null},"messages":[{"id":"329719","messageId":"CA+bN42rdGATo-T-ibWRMvXsKJwgX6Lp_xSM+MEQdc3tOejshog@mail.gmail.com","threadId":"46903","inReplyTo":null,"subject":"Deleting a branch after merging it results in \"there may be uncommitted changes\"","fromName":"Joshua Lamusga","fromEmail":"joshlamusga@gmail.com","sentAt":"2017-10-05T03:04:00Z","receivedAt":"2017-10-05T03:04:07Z","isPatch":false,"sender":{"key":"joshlamusga@gmail.com","avatar":null},"body":"Hello, I'm trying to understand Git and the mess I've made. Some time\nago, I did crazy things like adding to master even though I was\nworking in develop, leaving it a commit ahead and X commits behind. I\ndid crazier things, like trying to amend a previous post's message.\n\nAnyway, I follow a very simple merging model for this one-person\nproject. Recently, I made a new local branch off of develop called\nfeature-printing. After checking out feature-printing, making my\nchanges, and committing changes, I merged it with develop. I then\nimmediately tried to delete feature-printing, which resulted in a\nprompt asking if I was sure since it might contain uncommitted\nchanges. Though I've seen this problem many times on the internet, I\nhaven't seen it in the context of literally just merging. There are 0\nsteps between merging and deleting the old branch.\n\nAll of this is done in Visual Studio's GUI for Git. Any ideas?\n"},{"id":"330540","messageId":"fe4063db-c917-2661-2b5a-17c0d226f49a@redhat.com","threadId":"46903","inReplyTo":"CA+bN42rdGATo-T-ibWRMvXsKJwgX6Lp_xSM+MEQdc3tOejshog@mail.gmail.com","subject":"Re: Deleting a branch after merging it results in \"there may be uncommitted changes\"","fromName":"Florian Weimer","fromEmail":"fweimer@redhat.com","sentAt":"2017-10-17T12:24:08Z","receivedAt":"2017-10-17T12:24:15Z","isPatch":false,"sender":{"key":"fweimer@redhat.com","avatar":null},"body":"On 10/05/2017 05:04 AM, Joshua Lamusga wrote:\n> Anyway, I follow a very simple merging model for this one-person\n> project. Recently, I made a new local branch off of develop called\n> feature-printing. After checking out feature-printing, making my\n> changes, and committing changes, I merged it with develop. I then\n> immediately tried to delete feature-printing, which resulted in a\n> prompt asking if I was sure since it might contain uncommitted\n> changes. Though I've seen this problem many times on the internet, I\n> haven't seen it in the context of literally just merging. There are 0\n> steps between merging and deleting the old branch.\n\nWhat's the exact warning?  It seems unlikely that your Git interface \nwould complain about *uncommitted* changes in this context.\n\n> All of this is done in Visual Studio's GUI for Git. Any ideas?\n\nMaybe ask on a Visual Studio forum instead, in case this is something \ngenerated by the front end?\n\nFlorian\n"}]}