Re: [PATCH 2/2] mergetool: run prompt only if guessed tool
- From
David Aguilar <davvid@gmail.com>
- Date
- Apr 23, 2014, 07:58 UTC
- Message-ID
- <CAJDDKr5P7crudFiAa7Lu4CYmDWgZ-drdkiOfusFHioTF9co2Nw@mail.gmail.com>
- In-Reply-To
- <xmqqbnvt703s.fsf@gitster.dls.corp.google.com>
On Tue, Apr 22, 2014 at 10:19 AM, Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com> wrote:
Show 21 quoted lines
> David Aguilar <davvid@gmail.com> writes: > >> [Cc:ing Charles in case he has an opinion, this behavior dates back to the original MT] >> >> On Sun, Apr 20, 2014 at 07:17:34PM -0500, Felipe Contreras wrote: >>> It's annoying to see the prompt: >>> >>> Hit return to start merge resolution tool (foo): >>> >>> Every time the user does 'git mergetool' even if the user already >>> configured 'foo' as the wanted tool. >>> >>> Display this prompt only when the user hasn't explicitly configured a >>> tool. >> >> I agree this is probably helpful. >> Most users I've met end up configuring mergetool.prompt=false. >> >> Thanks > > OK, is it an Ack?
Sure thing.
Acked-by: David Aguilar <davvid@gmail.com>
> Thanks for CC'ing Charles, by the way. I think his point about > mentioning the change of default somewhere in the documentation > has some merits, and it can be done in a follow-up patch on top.
Another thing that crossed my mind is that we have -y for --no-prompt because --prompt was the original default. Maybe a -i (?) shortcut for the interactive --prompt can be added to make the "need to skip some when resolving" use case easier to activate.
-- David