From: David Aguilar Date: Wed, 23 Apr 2014 07:58:51 GMT Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/2] mergetool: run prompt only if guessed tool Message-ID: In-Reply-To: On Tue, Apr 22, 2014 at 10:19 AM, Junio C Hamano wrote: > David Aguilar writes: > >> [Cc:ing Charles in case he has an opinion, this behavior dates back to the original MT] >> >> On Sun, Apr 20, 2014 at 07:17:34PM -0500, Felipe Contreras wrote: >>> It's annoying to see the prompt: >>> >>> Hit return to start merge resolution tool (foo): >>> >>> Every time the user does 'git mergetool' even if the user already >>> configured 'foo' as the wanted tool. >>> >>> Display this prompt only when the user hasn't explicitly configured a >>> tool. >> >> I agree this is probably helpful. >> Most users I've met end up configuring mergetool.prompt=false. >> >> Thanks > > OK, is it an Ack? Sure thing. Acked-by: David Aguilar > Thanks for CC'ing Charles, by the way. I think his point about > mentioning the change of default somewhere in the documentation > has some merits, and it can be done in a follow-up patch on top. Another thing that crossed my mind is that we have -y for --no-prompt because --prompt was the original default. Maybe a -i (?) shortcut for the interactive --prompt can be added to make the "need to skip some when resolving" use case easier to activate. -- David