Re: [PATCH 2/2] mergetool: run prompt only if guessed tool
- From
Charles Bailey <charles@hashpling.org>
- Date
- Apr 22, 2014, 06:55 UTC
- Message-ID
- <20140422065549.GA11224@hashpling.org>
- In-Reply-To
- <53560b09bbe96_2400128531085@nysa.notmuch>
On Tue, Apr 22, 2014 at 01:24:09AM -0500, Felipe Contreras wrote:
Show 5 quoted lines
> > This is what I get when a tool is not working: > > Documentation/config.txt seems unchanged. > Was the merge successful? [y/n]
Does this happen now even with merge tools for which we do trust the exit code? If so, my original concern is addressed.
Show 13 quoted lines
> > Personally, I leave mergetool.prompt unset (default true) because one > > extra click in a complex merge resolution is relatively low overhead and > > to catch myself when I forget that I'm in a no-X environment. > > > > I glanced at the patch and it seems to subvert this intent for users > > who have configured a merge tool. Is my understanding correct? > > Yes, that's correct. If the user has *manually* configured a tool, why would > you ask him again? We are annoying the overwhelming the vast majority of users > who already configured the right tool in order to avoid issues with a minute > minority that might potentially but unlikely have a problem once or twice. > > That's not productive.
We're asking to user to signal that he's happy to launch the mergetool and implicitly giving him an opportunity to break out of the session. I don't see anything wrong with having this behaviour.
So long as we don't hit the loop-with-lots-of-error-trace for users who haven't set mergetool.prompt I've no strong objections to changing the default so long as an explictly set mergetool.prompt is respected.
Ideally, I think I'd like the prompt to accept a "launch/skip/abort" range of options but that's a wider scoped thing. Sometimes when I'm resolving a lot of things and not specifying any paths I come across something that know I don't want to attempt a resolve with my currently configured tool and I just want to skip it for now. Currently, I have to either abort the session or let the mergetool fire up and close it again neither of which are optimal.