Re: Deleting files
- From
- Shak <sshaikh@hotmail.com>
- Date
- Jun 12, 2008, 12:23 UTC
- Message-ID
- <g2r4ha$74i$1@ger.gmane.org>
- In-Reply-To
- <477B22F6-9F24-4CBE-98EE-58EF697E6320@ai.rug.nl>
"Pieter de Bie" <pdebie@ai.rug.nl> wrote in message news:477B22F6-9F24-4CBE-98EE-58EF697E6320@ai.rug.nl...
Show 9 quoted lines
> > In short, the point is that you never commited the deletions! Your whole > history > until now will still show those deleted files. You can commit the > actually deletions > now, as you should have done before (either by using "git rm <file>", > "git add -u", > "git commit -a" or "git commit <file>". >
Thanks for the quick workflow. To fill in a gap in my OP, I was using "git add ." to add new files before a "commit". Since I (perhaps incorrectly) took "commit -a" as a short cut for these two commands, I assumed that "git add ." would also commit deletions.
So sticking to my previous workflow (I need to do this since "commit -a" as I understand it doesn't commit new files, and I often forget that I've added :)), it seems I should do the following to keep the working directory in sync with the repository:
git add . git add -u git commit
Is that right? Should the two add commands be called in that order or doesn't it matter?
I ask because I'm still concerned with how git assumed I had renamed files after I had "git rm"d them. As far as I could tell they were not very alike. Perhaps adding the new files before removing the old ones would stop this behavior?
Shak