From: Shak Date: Thu, 12 Jun 2008 12:23:53 GMT Subject: Re: Deleting files Message-ID: In-Reply-To: <477B22F6-9F24-4CBE-98EE-58EF697E6320@ai.rug.nl> "Pieter de Bie" wrote in message news:477B22F6-9F24-4CBE-98EE-58EF697E6320@ai.rug.nl... > > In short, the point is that you never commited the deletions! Your whole > history > until now will still show those deleted files. You can commit the > actually deletions > now, as you should have done before (either by using "git rm ", > "git add -u", > "git commit -a" or "git commit ". > Thanks for the quick workflow. To fill in a gap in my OP, I was using "git add ." to add new files before a "commit". Since I (perhaps incorrectly) took "commit -a" as a short cut for these two commands, I assumed that "git add ." would also commit deletions. So sticking to my previous workflow (I need to do this since "commit -a" as I understand it doesn't commit new files, and I often forget that I've added :)), it seems I should do the following to keep the working directory in sync with the repository: git add . git add -u git commit Is that right? Should the two add commands be called in that order or doesn't it matter? I ask because I'm still concerned with how git assumed I had renamed files after I had "git rm"d them. As far as I could tell they were not very alike. Perhaps adding the new files before removing the old ones would stop this behavior? Shak