Deleting files
- From
- Shak <sshaikh@hotmail.com>
- Date
- Jun 12, 2008, 11:28 UTC
- Message-ID
- <g2r19e$s6e$1@ger.gmane.org>
Hi,
Are files supposed to be continually tracked after commiting after deleting them?
git status reports that files have been deleted as expected (they're not there anymore). I commit as wanted. I do some more work, but then git status still reports that the same files have been deleted. As such I have a historical list of "deleted" files that I may have been working on previously and had committed.
I have to run git rm to erase these entries, but I've no idea how that affects my history.
Shouldn't git add/commit remember that a file has been deleted previously?
On a related note, once I do git rm on one of these files, git status sometimes reports that these rm'd files have been renamed to a new one instead! What's going on? :(
Shak