Why does 'git branch -d' act differntly after clone?
- From
- Konstantin Hollerith <khollerith@gmail.com>
- Date
- Aug 20, 2015, 12:10 UTC
- Message-ID
- <CALwJaCzYgDKdcT7H7=5x0fnNRv4MsrtjJoHJcB9rJyh3dU--xQ@mail.gmail.com>
Hi,
I created a simple repository. If i create a new branch from master and commit some changes and then delete it with
git branch -d neuerTestBranch
I'll get a error:
error: The branch 'neuerTestBranch' is not fully merged.
I like that error, it reminds me, that i forgot to merge. However, if i don't delete this branch and clone the Repository somewhere else, i don't get the error anymore. When i delete the branch now, i get this message:
warning: deleting branch 'neuerTestBranch' that has been merged to
'refs/remotes/origin/neuerTestBranch', but not yet merged to HEAD.And the Branch is deleted right away.
Why does git branch -d acts differently after a clone? Is this behavior maybe a Bug? Is it possible to force a behavior like the first in cloned repositories, too?
I use 'git version 2.5.0.windows.1'.
Cheers, Konstantin