From: Konstantin Hollerith Date: Thu, 20 Aug 2015 12:10:37 GMT Subject: Why does 'git branch -d' act differntly after clone? Message-ID: Hi, I created a simple repository. If i create a new branch from master and commit some changes and then delete it with git branch -d neuerTestBranch I'll get a error: error: The branch 'neuerTestBranch' is not fully merged. I like that error, it reminds me, that i forgot to merge. However, if i don't delete this branch and clone the Repository somewhere else, i don't get the error anymore. When i delete the branch now, i get this message: warning: deleting branch 'neuerTestBranch' that has been merged to 'refs/remotes/origin/neuerTestBranch', but not yet merged to HEAD. And the Branch is deleted right away. Why does git branch -d acts differently after a clone? Is this behavior maybe a Bug? Is it possible to force a behavior like the first in cloned repositories, too? I use 'git version 2.5.0.windows.1'. Cheers, Konstantin