Re: files deleted with no record?
- From
Phil Hord <phil.hord@gmail.com>
- Date
- Jun 26, 2014, 16:47 UTC
- Message-ID
- <CABURp0p6amKmhMhOUzdKy0a8TY7bmPoSLM0sUnZfGErhyfLsEQ@mail.gmail.com>
- In-Reply-To
- <CAFDwLfyXrUZUUuaciAjamn-cXJ6mAv_D41zLwT4AZE=cmAX7rg@mail.gmail.com>
On Mon, Jun 23, 2014 at 9:15 PM, Jeremy Scott <jeremy@great-scotts.org> wrote:
Show 6 quoted lines
> I just encountered a situation where a merge was made, with no > apparent changes in files (ie no log), but the result was that some > files were deleted. > > person A adds some files > person B adds some files from the same point
You mean from the same point in history, right? Not files with the same filename or path?
> person B commits and pushes. > person A commits -- now merge is required > a few more commits on top of person B's commit
I don't understand this step. Who adds a few more commits on top of B and why?
> person A merges - this removes the files that B added. There is no log > of the files being deleted
This sounds like an "evil merge" (see man gitglossary, and google), but it's not clear to me how you arrived here.
When I tried to reproduce your issue with this script, it did not remove any files unexpectedly: ------------------->8----------------------- #!/bin/sh
set -e mkdir foo && cd foo && git init echo foo > foo && git add foo && git commit -mfoo
git checkout -b PersonA master echo bar > bar && git add bar git commit -m"PersonA: bar"
git checkout -b PersonB master echo baz > baz && git add baz git commit -m"PersonB: baz"
echo foo-conflict >> foo && git add foo git commit -m"PersonB: foo"
git checkout PersonA echo foo-different >> foo && git add foo git commit -m"PersonA: foo (conflicts with PersonB)"
git log --oneline --all --stat
if ! git merge PersonB ; then git checkout PersonA foo git commit --no-edit fi git log --oneline --graph --stat ------------------->8-----------------------
A sneaky issue with merges is that they do not have a clear way to show patch information -- the diff between the commit and its ancestor -- because they have multiple ancestors. You can show diffs for a merge relative to each of its parents, but it is not usually done for you automatically. This is why making changes in a merge which are not actually required for the merge is bad ("evil").
> Clearly this is possible - was this a user error?
Probably, but we'd need to see how the user got there.