Re: Sharing a massive distributed merge
- From
Jay Soffian <jaysoffian@gmail.com>
- Date
- Mar 17, 2011, 17:58 UTC
- Message-ID
- <AANLkTinQYjq=NiHK6MK0tA5AEE7=NCg8kthJT9Xz=xNk@mail.gmail.com>
- In-Reply-To
- <AANLkTikfp_d00zrtU8kuvyUk81gGMkOXEVDNXr-hRhBU@mail.gmail.com>
On Thu, Mar 17, 2011 at 10:54 AM, Alex Riesen <raa.lkml@gmail.com> wrote:
Show 10 quoted lines
> On Thu, Mar 17, 2011 at 15:10, Jay Soffian <jaysoffian@gmail.com> wrote: >> On Thu, Mar 17, 2011 at 4:53 AM, Alex Riesen <raa.lkml@gmail.com> wrote: >>> What if they just revert the rest? Reset the files to their states before >>> merge. >> >> That's the same as checkout --ours which is sometimes a valid >> resolution for a file. So I think "I resolved this file" needs to be >> recorded either way. > > But it is recorded: the file is different now!
Let's say we have:
a---b---c
\
d---e$ git checkout c $ git merge e # files "foo" and "bar" conflict $ git checkout --ours foo # correct resolution for foo $ git checkout HEAD bar # "revert" bar to its pre-merge state $ git add foo $ git commit
In the merge commit, both "foo" and "bar" are identical to their pre-merge state. There's no effective difference between the "checkout --ours" and "reset the files to their states before the merge".
So again, how do you tell the difference here?
j.