Re: Feature request: Config option for --no-ignore-removal/--ignore-removal
- From
Felipe Contreras <felipe.contreras@gmail.com>
- Date
- Oct 17, 2013, 00:31 UTC
- Message-ID
- <525f2ffe6790b_43dcf8be8485@nysa.notmuch>
- In-Reply-To
- <xmqqli1s6gly.fsf@gitster.dls.corp.google.com>
Junio C Hamano wrote:
Show 18 quoted lines
> Matthew Cline <matt@nightrealms.com> writes: > > > When I try to a plain old "git add ." when files have been > > deleted/moved, I get the warning > > > >> You ran 'git add' with neither '-A (--all)' or '--ignore-removal' > > > > There should be some way to put something in ~/.gitconfig to tell git to > > always choose one or another. > > The lack of configurability is very much deliberate. > > Adding such knobs that make basic behaviour of Git different > depending on the per-user setting will make it unnecessarily harder > to run to help your coworker when she is having problems. "git add > directory" you type in her terminal during the session to help her > could work differently from the way you are used to, if we added > such a knob.
That's going to happen regardless. You are assuming she is running Git v2.0, which she might not.
-- Felipe Contreras