Rebasing published branches?
- From
- Josef Wolf <jw@raven.inka.de>
- Date
- Nov 6, 2012, 20:18 UTC
- Message-ID
- <20121106201822.GE28437@raven.wolf.lan>
Hello,
I know, I should never rebase published branches. But...
I frequently work on different computers and would like to share my private branches across them. When done and the feature is in a good shape, I'd like to rebase to clean up history before I make it available to other people.
I guess rebasing such branches would be OK as long as I can reliably remember to delete those branches on _all_ the clones I ever created.
But waht if I ever make a mistake? How would one recover from such rebase disasters? Anybody knows a good description how such a recover would be done?