Re: [PATCH] reset --hard/read-tree --reset -u: remove unmerged new paths
- From
- Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
- Date
- Oct 16, 2008, 07:20 UTC
- Message-ID
- <20081016072010.GA19188@elte.hu>
- In-Reply-To
- <7vy70ppiq1.fsf_-_@gitster.siamese.dyndns.org>
* Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com> wrote:
Show 5 quoted lines
> When aborting a failed merge that has brought in a new path using "git > reset --hard" or "git read-tree --reset -u", we used to first forget > about the new path (via read_cache_unmerged) and then matched the > working tree to what is recorded in the index, thus ending up leaving > the new path in the work tree.
i've met this problem in various variants in the past few months, and i always assumed that it's "as designed" - as Git's policy is to never lose information unless forced to do so. (which i find very nice in general, and which saved modification from getting lost a couple of times in the past)
the situations where i end up with a messed up working tree [using git-c427559 right now]:
- doing a conflicted Octopus merge will leave the tree in some weird half-merged state, with lots of untracked working tree files that not even a hard reset will recover from. The routine thing i do to clean up is:
git reset --hard HEAD
git checkout HEAD .
git ls-files --others | xargs rm # DANGEROUSdoing git checkout -f alone is not enough, as there might be various dangling files left around.
- git auto-gc thinking that it needs to do another pass in the middle of a random git operation, but i dont have 10 minutes to wait so i decide to Ctrl-C it.
- doing the wrong "git checkout" and then Ctlr-C-ing it can leave the working tree in limbo as well, needing fixups. If i'm stuck between two branches that rename/remove files it might need the full fixup sequence above.
- if a testbox has a corrupted system clock, its git repo and the kernel build can get confused. This is to be expected i think - but the full sequence above will recover the corrupted tree. Not much Git can do about this i guess.
Does your fix mean that all i have to do in the future is a hard reset back to HEAD, and that dangling files are not supposed to stay around?
Ingo