Re: [PATCH] Documentation: clarify signature verification
- From
Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
- Date
- Apr 11, 2016, 16:41 UTC
- Message-ID
- <xmqqtwj8rtcd.fsf@gitster.mtv.corp.google.com>
- In-Reply-To
- <20160411003242.GC9034@hashbang.sh>
KellerFuchs <KellerFuchs@hashbang.sh> writes:
Show 20 quoted lines
> On Sun, Apr 10, 2016 at 11:46:10AM -0700, Junio C Hamano wrote: >> > --- a/Documentation/merge-options.txt >> > +++ b/Documentation/merge-options.txt >> > @@ -89,8 +89,10 @@ option can be used to override --squash. >> > >> > --verify-signatures:: >> > --no-verify-signatures:: >> > - Verify that the commits being merged have good and trusted GPG signatures >> > + Verify that the commits being merged have good and valid GPG signatures >> > and abort the merge in case they do not. >> > + For instance, when running `git merge --verify-signature remote/branch`, >> > + only the head commit on `remote/branch` needs to be signed. >> >> The first part of this change and all other changes are of dubious >> value, but the last two lines is truly an improvement--it adds >> missing information people who use the feature may care about. > > The reason for the first edit is that “trusted” and “valid” are OpenPGP > concepts: a key is trusted if the user set a trust level for it, > and a uid is valid if it has been signed by a trusted key [0].
OK, so it is wrong to talk about "trusted" and/or "valid" "GPG signatures" like the original one. We should say "... have GPG signatures that were signed by valid key" (not "trusted" key)?
> Most of my confusion came from this, since it sounded like the signature > would only be accepted if it came from a key with a non-zero ownertrust.
Thanks for clarification. The distinction between trusted and valid should at least be in the log message and possibly (if we can find a good way to flow it into the description) added to the documentation.
Perhaps like this?
Verify that the tip commit of the side branch being merged is
signed with a valid key (i.e. a key that is signed by a key that
the user set the trust level as trusted), and abort the merge if
it is not.