Re: [rfc] flip rerere.enabled default to be "on" at Git 3.0 boundary?
- From
Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
- Date
- Oct 21, 2025, 22:19 UTC
- Message-ID
- <xmqqsefbsxru.fsf@gitster.g>
- In-Reply-To
- <ecf21e8d-acff-47fb-b972-59cd7b8f3146@app.fastmail.com>
"Kristoffer Haugsbakk" <kristofferhaugsbakk@fastmail.com> writes:
Show 20 quoted lines
> The biggest usability problem for me is when I have a cache, I want to > keep it, but I want to remove a few pathspecs. I’ve made some notes on > this to myself. Apparently I tried to `git rerere forget` on some paths > but I got not output. Then I did it again and it reused it. According > to my notes I had to get into that conflict resolution state and then > *forget*: > > (this is straight from my notes, I didn’t try this right now) > > 1. I did the wrong thing for `file` > 2. I reset the merge back > 3. I did the merge > 4. *While resolving conflicts*: `git rerere forget <file>` > 5. `git merge --abort` > 6. Do merge again > 7. Now I can redo the merge conflict for `<file>` while keeping the rest > of the resolutions > > I don’t know if all of that was necessary but that’s what I did to make > it work for me.
That is how I would do it. Of course if I know I can get to the right resolution without steps 5 and 6, then I'd just record the resolution after doing "rerere forget" at step 4.