Re: [PATCH v2] status: compare against both upstream and push branch by default
- From
Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
- Date
- Oct 23, 2026, 17:43 UTC
- Message-ID
- <xmqqld7o71ot.fsf@gitster.g>
- In-Reply-To
- <pull.2458.v2.git.git.1792585662669.gitgitgadget@gmail.com>
"Harald Nordgren via GitGitGadget" <gitgitgadget@gmail.com> writes:
> Showing both without any configuration was the original proposal for > that commit. But some found the comparison with the push branch to be > noise. So the comparison was made opt in [1], with the idea of > flipping the default later if people like the option.
The key phrase here is "if people like the option".
> Those who find the comparison with the push branch to be noise can
> set status.compareBranches to "@{upstream}" to get the old output
> back.The presence of an escape hatch is described here. But its existence is not a valid excuse to force people to use it, nor does it answer the question "if people like the option" posed above.
The paragraph above (and below) also assumes that comparing with @{push} is not noise for many people. We have not yet heard a convincing argument supporting that assumption in the proposed log message. In a triangular workflow, @{upstream} is not under your control, so you may want to monitor its progress closely. But isn't your @{push} destination typically owned solely by you? In other words, aren't you the only one who pushes to it? If so, whatever you did locally would be the only change that could go on top of @{push}, and unlike @{upstream} you would not see any unexpected work over there appearing without your control.
Show 5 quoted lines
> Having configured push.default and a push remote to get there, > they are the users best placed to find that setting. Those who are > just starting to push somewhere other than where they pull from > benefit the most from seeing both comparisons without having to > discover the variable first.
I do not think I follow. Those who are just starting to push to a destination other than @{upstream} would have changed their configuration to do so, wouldn't they? Aren't they equally well placed, if not more, to find the same setting?
Overall, I still do not find it convincing that we should change the default to surprise existing users.
Thanks.