git checkout -b following git reset --hard pitfall
- From
- Maris, Rob <maris.rob@ingenieur.de>
- Date
- Sep 9, 2012, 13:25 UTC
- Message-ID
- <op.wkdd9andsuzgrs@rob-desktop>
Normally, when there are modifications in the working tree not yet added resp. committed, git will refuse to change to another branch. However, when I create a new branch on the fly, using git checkout -b <branch>, there is no complaint appearing. After doing so, I executed a git reset --hard in once case, just thinking that the previous "modified" branch status was preserved. Of course, this notion is incorrect. But I realised this after a bit of thinking about it. Actually, the modified status of git related to both branches after git checkout -b can have following consequences:
- it is lost definitely when git reset -hard is executed - if committed, it is committed into the newly created branch
This actually constitutes an asymmetric response (perceived double deletion vs. single preservation). I'd wish that git checkout displays *at least* a warning when a "modified" state is not committed: "warning: Your local changes to the following files are no longer associated with the previous branch:"
-Rob
git version 1.7.11