How do I undo a fast-forward merge safely?
- From
Brent Goodrick <bgoodr@gmail.com>
- Date
- Feb 22, 2009, 19:15 UTC
- Message-ID
- <e38bce640902221115o2dd1c63dv6f7acc374b48d418@mail.gmail.com>
I had done a git merge --no-commit <source_branch> operation, but that bit me because I mistakingly concluded that --no-commit would prevent any type of automatic operation, but apparently a fast-forward occurred. I should have used the --no-ff option? How do I get my target branch back to where it was before the bad merge?
I did make a backup of the entire repo before I started, so I do have the plan-B option of replay my changes onto a copy of the backup repo. But, maintaining backup copies just so as to avoid getting bit each time I forget to use the --no-ff option will be a non-starter, so I would hope there are some safe commands I can use to go back to the original.
git log -1 does not show the commit, but gitk does show a vertical red line that I can only presume indicates the fast-forward. How does gitk determine that red line, while git-log does not? Note that I have not pulled into any other repo's yet, and won't until I can rectify this issue.
Here was my bad git merge command line:
$ git merge --no-commit source_branch Updating 7eb9a02..0c66ca1 Fast forward <eliding list of files I want mixed in with lots of files I don't want>
So, what operations, rebase, reset, etc, do I need to do to get this repo back to where it was right before the fast-forward?
Thanks, Brent