git-p4: default behavior for handling moves?
- From
Luke Diamand <luke@diamand.org>
- Date
- Jan 7, 2019, 12:50 UTC
- Message-ID
- <CAE5ih7987J2WXdCJvs2e3hOn3zucpE6gsr4JJtxO+XE5=K2G_Q@mail.gmail.com>
git-p4 can map a "git move" operation to a Perforce "move" operation. But by default this is disabled. You then end up with a P4 commit where the file is deleted, and a fresh file is created with the same contents at the new location at revision #1.
Rename detection gets enabled either with the "-M" option, or with some config variables, git-p4.detectCopies and git-p4.detectRenames.
I've been tripped up by this, and I actually know about it, and I know other people have been as well.
Should we switch the default over so that it's enabled by default? I can't think of any reason why you wouldn't want it enabled.
I think the rename code was first introduced around 2011 by Vitor.
Another option is to add a warning, but people just ignore warnings!
Thanks! Luke