Re: Bug after removing a local branch and restore the remote branch during a rebase
- From
Jacob Keller <jacob.keller@gmail.com>
- Date
- Sep 17, 2015, 16:44 UTC
- Message-ID
- <CA+P7+xpKQasAQ3Qx4bbQWX7N4kQqknKGW7Xei6xCNEY=p7CraA@mail.gmail.com>
- In-Reply-To
- <CF93B86B-8CCF-483D-918A-47C910CEE8BA@surialabs.com>
Hi,
On Thu, Sep 17, 2015 at 3:12 AM, Robert Strobl <robert.strobl@surialabs.com> wrote:
Show 5 quoted lines
> It might be an unusual workflow, however it leads to a bug: > > git checkout feature_branch > git rebase master >
Ok so you are performing the rebase...
Show 11 quoted lines
> # a couple of conflicts occur, which I don’t want to fix. there is an updated version on origin > # so I’d like to go with that one > > git add . > git stash > git checkout master > git branch -D feature_branch > git pull > git checkout feature_branch > git status >
So you delete the branch, but the rebase stores the branch it's working on by name, *and* you then re-create the branch again by "git checkout feature_branch"
Show 7 quoted lines
> # On branch feature_branch > # You are currently rebasing branch ‘feature_branch' on '195269d'. > # (all conflicts fixed: run "git rebase --continue") > > # nothing to commit, working directory clean > > # It still thinks that I’m rebasing the branch, so let’s try:
You are still rebasing.
Show 12 quoted lines
> > git rebase —abort > > # On branch feature_branch > # Your branch and ‘origin/feature_branch' have diverged, > # and have 104 and 77 different commits each, respectively. > # (use "git pull" to merge the remote branch into yours) > # nothing to commit, working directory clean > > I’m aware that I should have aborted the rebase and then fetch the remote branch. > However, I still think that when I delete a local branch, it should also abort the rebase that is attached to it. >
So what happened here is the rebase --abort tries to return you to the starting situation when you began the rebase. Normally if you change the current checked out branch to a new one, ie: git checkout master, it will say "not returning to ORIG_HEAD"... however... you are on the same branch name, thus rebase --abort returns you to your position.
> I hope you find that useful. If it makes sense, I would be happy writing a patch for it :) >
I don't think anything needs to happen. You admit that you should have run "git rebase --abort" first. Second, you actually re-create the same branch name again...
After fixing up the rebase --abort, just perform a git reset to fix your tree where you want it.
In fact I prefer current behavior which has lower risk of lost work, since abort puts you back to where you were before... I don't think that supporting "I deleted a branch" makes sense here.
a) there is an easy known practice for this flow... rebase --abort first
b) there is an easy fix after you rebase --abort late: git reset --hard master
Between these two things I don't think we should change rebase to stop recovering the history.
Regards, Jake
> Cheers, > Robert--