Re: got myself into trouble; now what? - how to revert once you've pushed
- From
Robert Buck <buck.robert.j@gmail.com>
- Date
- Mar 2, 2011, 13:10 UTC
- Message-ID
- <AANLkTi==_zmSy4j-JwyCuYouV-J3shSObJe2y942PjCn@mail.gmail.com>
- In-Reply-To
- <20110301195027.GE10082@sigill.intra.peff.net>
On Tue, Mar 1, 2011 at 2:50 PM, Jeff King <peff@peff.net> wrote:
Show 44 quoted lines
> On Tue, Mar 01, 2011 at 02:37:19PM -0500, Robert Buck wrote: > >> We have two branches: master, feature/wixinstall >> >> Apparently a merge happened from the branch to master (and I am pretty >> sure I never typed `git merge...`). But alas, a merge somehow happened >> and got pushed. > > Did you run "git pull", which is basically fetch+merge? > >> Then I followed the Git Pro documentation, which said to do this... >> >> git revert -m 1 [sha_of_C8] >> >> Now I am left with a bigger mess. When I merge master to the branch, >> all the newly added files on the branch got deleted (not what I >> wanted). Somehow git is interpreting the revert literally as a >> sequence of deletes which it incorrectly then applies to the work on >> the branch. > > Yeah. That reverts the merge, in essence creating a new tree built on > top of the merge without the results of the merge. But when you try to > re-merge between those two branches, it sees that history has already > combined, and then afterwards eliminated the result. Which is not what > you wanted. > > Read the section "reverting the revert" directly below the advice you > followed: > > http://progit.org/2010/03/02/undoing-merges.html > >> What I really wanted the revert to do is restore the history of the >> world immediately prior to the merge. But now I have a branch I can't >> merge into at all without losing a weeks work. >> >> How can I get out of this mess? > > If you can accept that history will be rewritten (which is a problem if > people have built on top of your bogus merge), then what you want is: > > git checkout master > git reset --hard $SHA1_OF_MERGE^ > > and then re-push.
That does not work; the central server rejects the commit. Now there are two other commits after mine, and the problem is getting worse.
Does anyone have a detailed guide of how to obliterate a range of commits and replay subsequent history on top of that?
-Bob