Re: push.default, was Re: What's cooking in git.git (Mar 2009, #04; Sat, 14)
- From
Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
- Date
- Mar 17, 2009, 23:47 UTC
- Message-ID
- <7vab7jpv93.fsf@gitster.siamese.dyndns.org>
- In-Reply-To
- <alpine.DEB.1.00.0903172350270.10279@pacific.mpi-cbg.de>
Johannes Schindelin <Johannes.Schindelin@gmx.de> writes:
Show 47 quoted lines
> Hi,
>
> On Wed, 18 Mar 2009, Nanako Shiraishi wrote:
>
>> Quoting Johannes Schindelin <Johannes.Schindelin@gmx.de>:
>>
>> > On Sat, 14 Mar 2009, Junio C Hamano wrote:
>> >
>> >> * fg/push-default (Wed Mar 11 23:01:45 2009 +0100) 1 commit
>> >> - New config push.default to decide default behavior for push
>> >>
>> >> Replaced the old series with the first step to allow a smooth
>> >> transition. Some might argue that this should not give any warning
>> >> but just give users this new configuration to play with first, and
>> >> after we know we are going to switch default some day, start the
>> >> warning.
>> >
>> > IIRC Steffen posted a patch series earlier, where he initialized
>> > remote.origin.push upon clone (I am not sure if he provided a
>> > corresponding patch for checkout --track), but personally, I think
>> > that would be nicer than having a push.default.
>>
>> Isn't recent trend to avoid such inconsistency between behavior in an
>> existing repository and behavior in a newly created repository? For
>> example, Jeff calls such inconsistency in
>>
>> http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.comp.version-control.git/100339/focus=100433
>>
>> as "this breaks in my repo, but when I make a test repo it works". Junio
>> even called it 'madness' (^_^;)
>
> My point is that it is _not_ an inconsistency.
>
> It has a default setting. One that already is well established. Push the
> matching refs.
>
> But you can override it by setting the config variable. Which is also
> well established.
>
> The only thing Steffen's patches would have changed would be to set the
> default differently now.
>
> Which is not that much of a 'madness'.
>
> Especially if you think about changing the default, which _will_ make for
> angry users ("why did you change the default? I _liked_ it! Please
> revert _now_!").I cloned my old project to my new machine with a recent git and it behaves differently. Why did you change the default "git clone" creates, without telling me?
Sounds like a huge inconsistency to me.