Re: [PATCH v3] git-p4: add option to preserve user names
- From
Luke Diamand <luke@diamand.org>
- Date
- May 8, 2011, 20:35 UTC
- Message-ID
- <4DC6FE90.6040406@diamand.org>
- In-Reply-To
- <7voc3dt7wq.fsf@alter.siamese.dyndns.org>
On 08/05/11 18:32, Junio C Hamano wrote:
Show 32 quoted lines
> Luke Diamand<luke@diamand.org> writes: > >>> It looks to me that the message is not helping the users, even though it >>> may help as a debugging aid for git-p4 developers. >> >> Should I just remove it? >> >> I guess it only adds a small amount of information which could be >> explained in the instructions. > > I was trying to get a feel of how much thinking went behind that message, > by suggesting a possible improvement to help users who forgot to pass the > new option when they might have wanted to, instead of just assuring users > who did pass the option when the command did the right thing for them. > > People learn to quickly ignore repeated and regular messages. They will > learn that they will get that message whenever they pass the new option, > and they learn that most of the time it says what they wanted, and will > easily miss when the username you put in the message is different from > what they expect. > > In our commit template, we say "# Author: author name" when and only when > it is different from you. Most of the time, you are committing your own > commit, so this line is _unusual_ and that is very much deliberate. > > If you do not think of a good way to improve the "help" part of the patch, > that is Ok. We are still making progress by giving a functionality that > has been missing. > > To remove or to keep, I am less qualified to judge than either you or > Pete. I'm not the primary audience. If you think it helps users, leave it > in. Otherwise remove.
Per your suggestion, I'm working on a pair of patches that are:
(a) the previous patch ("minor improvements"), but without the warning. git-p4.txt is updated to make it clearer what to expect.
(b) a second patch that puts a warning in the commit template if you are going to lose authorship information. The warning is disableable via git-config.
Regards! Luke