[PATCH] user-manual: reset to ORIG_HEAD not HEAD to undo merge
- From
- J. Bruce Fields <bfields@citi.umich.edu>
- Date
- Mar 4, 2007, 21:59 UTC
- Message-ID
- <1173045558959-git-send-email-bfields@citi.umich.edu>
- In-Reply-To
- <11730455574115-git-send-email-bfields@citi.umich.edu>
From: J. Bruce Fields <bfields@citi.umich.edu>
As Linus pointed out recently on the mailing list,
git reset --hard HEAD^
doesn't undo a merge in the case where the merge did a fast-forward. So the rcommendation here is a little dangerous.
Signed-off-by: "J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@citi.umich.edu> --- Documentation/user-manual.txt | 2 +- 1 files changed, 1 insertions(+), 1 deletions(-)
diff --git a/Documentation/user-manual.txt b/Documentation/user-manual.txt index 34e9651..0979211 100644 --- a/Documentation/user-manual.txt +++ b/Documentation/user-manual.txt @@ -1255,7 +1255,7 @@ $ git reset --hard HEAD Or, if you've already commited the merge that you want to throw away, ------------------------------------------------- -$ git reset --hard HEAD^ +$ git reset --hard ORIG_HEAD ------------------------------------------------- However, this last command can be dangerous in some cases--never
-- 1.5.0.gb75812-dirty