Having just tripped over this, it would be helpful if the fact that git mergetool saves the merge-conflict version of the file with a .orig suffix and that the file should be deleted before adding and committing the merge (as described at http://gitguru.com/2009/02/22/integrating-git-with-a-visual-merge-tool/) were documented on the git-mergetool page.
Chris