v1.7.0-rc0~18^2 (branch -d: base the "already-merged" safety on the branch it merges with, 2009-12-29) taught ‘git branch’ a new heuristic for when it is safe to delete a branch without forcing the issue. It is safe to delete a branch "topic" without second thought if:
- the branch "topic" is set up to pull from a (remote-tracking, usually) branch and is fully merged in that "upstream" branch, or
- there is no branch.topic.merge configuration and branch "topic" is fully merged in the current HEAD.
Update the man page to acknowledge the new rules.
Signed-off-by: Jonathan Nieder <jrnieder@gmail.com> --- I was looking in the documentation for a way to disable the new behavior. But that was the wrong idea --- better to see what it’s like to get used to it first.
Documentation/git-branch.txt | 4 +++- 1 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 1 deletions(-)
Show changes to Documentation/git-branch.txt +3 −1
diff --git a/Documentation/git-branch.txt b/Documentation/git-branch.txt index d78f4c7..1940256 100644 --- a/Documentation/git-branch.txt +++ b/Documentation/git-branch.txt @@ -63,7 +63,9 @@ way to clean up all obsolete remote-tracking branches. OPTIONS ------- -d:: - Delete a branch. The branch must be fully merged in HEAD. + Delete a branch. The branch must be fully merged in its + upstream branch, or in `HEAD` if no upstream was set with + `--track` or `--set-upstream`. -D:: Delete a branch irrespective of its merged status.
-- 1.7.1.rc1