From: Shak Date: Thu, 12 Jun 2008 12:01:01 GMT Subject: Re: Deleting files Message-ID: In-Reply-To: "Shak" wrote in message news:g2r1sb$tut$1@ger.gmane.org... > "Shak" wrote in message > news:g2r19e$s6e$1@ger.gmane.org... >> Hi, >> >> Are files supposed to be continually tracked after commiting after >> deleting them? >> >> git status reports that files have been deleted as expected (they're not >> there anymore). I commit as wanted. I do some more work, but then git >> status still reports that the same files have been deleted. As such I >> have a historical list of "deleted" files that I may have been working on >> previously and had committed. >> >> I have to run git rm to erase these entries, but I've no idea how that >> affects my history. >> >> Shouldn't git add/commit remember that a file has been deleted >> previously? >> >> On a related note, once I do git rm on one of these files, git status >> sometimes reports that these rm'd files have been renamed to a new one >> instead! What's going on? :( > > To be clear on the last point, git seems to be incorrectly detecting that > I've copied (sometimes to the same directory) and renamed files. What's > the difference anyway? And is there anyway to override it's overzelaous > assumptions? > To rudely reply to my own message a second time, it seems I have to explicitly run "git add -u" to actually commit deletions before committing. I don't notice any changes in "git status" so there doesn't seem a way of knowing that it's required. I've also noticed that renames aren't detected until you commit a delete. This is all becoming very counter-intuitive :( Shak