From: Zoltan Klinger Date: Thu, 10 Jan 2013 10:41:56 GMT Subject: Re: [PATCH v4] git-clean: Display more accurate delete messages Message-ID: In-Reply-To: <7vk3rl3fw5.fsf@alter.siamese.dyndns.org> > I think the code before this patch used to say "Would not remove" > and "Not removing" in certain cases to report the paths that the > command decided not to remove, but after this patch these two > messages no longer appear in the patch. > > Is it expected, are we losing information, or...? > I do not think we are losing any information. Say, we have a repo like this: test.git |-- untracked_file |-- untracked_bar | |-- bar.txt |-- untracked_foo |-- foo.txt The original version prints out: $ git clean -fn Would remove untracked_file Would not remove untracked_bar/ Would not remove untracked_foo/ We never asked for any directories to be removed so IMHO the "Would not remove ..." messages are just noise. The new version prints out: $ git clean -fn Would remove untracked_file