From: Bryan Turner Date: Thu, 12 Jul 2012 12:51:31 GMT Subject: Question: git clone --no-checkout behavior Message-ID: I've witnessed the following behavior in both git 1.7.6 and 1.7.10.4. Assume I have a bare clone, some-repo.git. If I run: - git clone --shared --no-checkout /path/to/some-repo.git shared-repo - cd shared-repo - git status I see that every file in the repository is _staged_ for deletion. I'm not surprised every file shows deleted; I'm surprised that the deletion starts out already staged. A git reset unstages all of the deletions and I'm good to go. I'm just wondering why they're all staged in the first place; it seems counter-intuitive. Can anyone shed some light on this? Bryan Turner