From: Alex Riesen Date: Thu, 01 Mar 2007 07:55:18 GMT Subject: Re: defaults for where to merge from Message-ID: <81b0412b0702282355i176ad7e5t7b9e417b27e524fb@mail.gmail.com> In-Reply-To: On 3/1/07, Johannes Schindelin wrote: > > > Well, I find it unobvious for pull to magically starting merging. > > Pull is _all_ about merging. > ... from what the user _conciously_ meant it to. > > Perhaps I'm using branch configuration in .git/config for too long, and > > actually expect nothing to be merged if there is no appropriate branch > > configuration. > > It is not possible that you use that feature you described for too long, > since it was not there in 1.4.x. There, whenever you said "git pull", it the syntax was introduced about half a year ago. Plenty of time to get used to it > would try to blindly pull the default branch of the remote "origin", which > might have been correct for the default branch (i.e. the branch > automatically set up by git-clone), but not necessarily for the other > branches. which everyone hated. With this change it will not that blindly, but still unexpectedly jump to some remote branch. > However, with the proposed behaviour, more new users would get less "Huh?" > experiences. yes, it will be the old users who'd get the experiences. What do they do, edit out unwanted tracking from .git/config everytime a branch from remote is created? Besides, I'm was just asking about providing an option (command-line parameter) to change the behavior to what it was before! Just "--no-tracking"?