From: Bahadir Balban Date: Thu, 12 Jan 2006 10:40:07 GMT Subject: Re: reverting back both working copy and commits Message-ID: <7ac1e90c0601120240u3f8d7571g5e5bf52b6d3c4c2a@mail.gmail.com> In-Reply-To: <7vslrutv2h.fsf@assigned-by-dhcp.cox.net> On 1/11/06, Junio C Hamano wrote: > Eh? That should not happen. > > Could you elaborate? > What "git reset --hard" would leave behind are files in the > working tree that you had when you made the wrongly done commit, > which were *not* known to git (i.e. you forgot to "git add" > before committing). Since they are not known to git, "reset --hard" > does not touch them. Sorry, it's my mistake, I later realised the working tree had been updated correctly. Thanks, Bahadir