From: Paolo Bonzini Date: Thu, 01 Mar 2007 08:02:31 GMT Subject: Re: defaults for where to merge from Message-ID: <45E68897.8000607@lu.unisi.ch> In-Reply-To: <81b0412b0702282355i176ad7e5t7b9e417b27e524fb@mail.gmail.com> > which everyone hated. With this change it will not that blindly, > but still unexpectedly jump to some remote branch. > >> However, with the proposed behaviour, more new users would get less >> "Huh?" experiences. > > yes, it will be the old users who'd get the experiences. What do they > do, edit out unwanted tracking from .git/config everytime a branch > from remote is created? If everyone hated the old behavior, old users should already be careful about not git-pull'ing (without options) from any branch but master. So they won't see any difference. Coming from arch, which is not really a masterpiece of intuitiveness, this detail (as well as others for which I may try writing patches later) struck me as *extremely* unintuitive... Paolo