From: Pratyush Yadav Date: Wed, 18 Dec 2019 19:31:29 GMT Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/1] worktree: delete branches auto-created by 'worktree add' Message-ID: <20191218193129.hnvaetebih4y2slt@yadavpratyush.com> In-Reply-To: <20191214161438.16157-2-me@yadavpratyush.com> On 14/12/19 09:44PM, Pratyush Yadav wrote: > When no branch name is supplied to 'worktree add', it creates a new > branch based on the name of the directory the new worktree is located > in. But when the worktree is later removed, that created branch is left > over. > > Remove that branch when removing the worktree. To make sure no commits > are lost, the branch won't be deleted if it has moved. > > An example use case of when something like this is useful is when the > user wants to check out a separate worktree to run and test on an older > version, but don't want to touch the current worktree. So, they create a > worktree, run some tests, and then remove it. But this leaves behind a > branch the user never created in the first place. > > So, remove the branch if nothing was done on it. > > Signed-off-by: Pratyush Yadav Ping? -- Regards, Pratyush Yadav