From: Aaron Schrab Date: Tue, 09 Jul 2013 20:17:24 GMT Subject: Re: [PATCH 7/7] push: document --lockref Message-ID: <20130709201724.GI4604@pug.qqx.org> In-Reply-To: <1373399610-8588-8-git-send-email-gitster@pobox.com> At 12:53 -0700 09 Jul 2013, Junio C Hamano wrote: >+This is meant to make `--force` safer to use. Imagine that you have >+to rebase what you have already published. You will have to >+`--force` the push to replace the history you originally published >+with the rebased history. If somebody else built on top of your >+original history while you are rebasing, the tip of the branch at >+the remote may advance with her commit, and blindly pushing with >+`--force` will lose her work. By using this option to specify that >+you expect the history you are updating is what you rebased and want >+to replace, you can make sure other people's work will not be losed >+by a forced push. in such a case. s/losed/lost/ How does this behave if --force is not used? I think it would be best if it was a no-op in that case to make it easy to add a config option to turn this on by default.