From: Nicolas Sebrecht Date: Tue, 29 Dec 2009 22:31:23 GMT Subject: Re: Question about 'branch -d' safety Message-ID: <20091229223123.GA12965@vidovic> In-Reply-To: <20091230065442.6117@nanako3.lavabit.com> The 30/12/09, Nanako Shiraishi wrote: > I think the safety feature should check if the branch to be deleted is merged to the remote tracking branch it was forked from, instead of checking the current branch. > > What do you think? I think we shouldn't. At first, every repository don't have a remote. This may easily be passed by a "double check" with a logical OR between the two statements. But even with it, we would hit some foreign workflow. Think: Bob directly push to Alice and Alice does the same to Bob. I don't use this kind of workflow myself but I consider them to be sensible enough to have our attention. Now, I'm talking about what users may expect from the default behaviour. I'm not against a new configuration variable. It would certainly give more granularity to the expectation of "what is safe for me". -- Nicolas Sebrecht